Skip to content

Death is hard. Especially when it’s wires and plastic.

December 14, 2009

She died.

Every winter we get together, we are were inseparable. She and I would hang out pretty much every night and spend most weekends together. We’d chill on the couch, or lay in bed and read, take naps and watch tv. We’d have dinner together: me, her and Connor. She was ALWAYS around for dessert (her favorite? ICE CREAM, just like me). While she kept me permanently attached to the wall throughout the colder months we usually spend together, I didn’t mind. We worked best that way. She got so comfortable around me that she took off her cover, I didn’t judge, she was pretty just as how she was. She was able to express herself better when she wasn’t all wrapped up in “material” things (I hated that blue cover, it always fell off her anyway). With age, she wrinkled (badly if I’m honest), but that’s what time and use does to us all. She was faithful, and always warmed my heart with her fiery heat. Seriously, she was the best friend a displaced island girl could have.

She’s gone now. She gave a good fight to the bitter and cold end. She fought hard-but her “fire” began to faid, and I could not do anything but hold her…feel and watch her die. Tears were cried, and I hugged her goodbye. I have not been able to bury her yet…the wounds are just too fresh. I shiver to think about it….I will remain strong, and I can’t lie to myself and say I won’t move on; try to find another companion like her. I have to look out for myself too. She will always hold a place in my heart, you might say, her impression is burned into me…

My dear friend Electric Heat Pad has died. The electricity could not flow through her any longer. She wasn’t in good shape. Her plasticy skin exposed her frayed wires below…and if I’m honest with myself, it was better for both of us to let go (god forbid I caught her disease…set my house on fire?!).

You will be missed E.H.P. You lived a good life, you warmed me like no one has before. I love you. Goodbye.

I will post “after” pictures…but the wounds are still too fresh…

To those of you who didn’t know about our relationship, you must understand what a tragic death this has been to me. I spend the winter months permanently attached to a wall or in the proximity of an outlet to plug-in my beloved E.H.P. People have made fun of me for my attachment, but a girls gotta have a best friend, dare I say that mine was made of wires and plastic…

In her youth:

What do you guys do during the winter months to stay warm?

Are you weirdly attached to something-to the extent you’d have a mourning ceremony if you ever lost it? (not that I’ve done this…)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2009 11:06 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    I just bundle up as much as I can to stay warm, and snuggle with my bf Nick, who is a HUMAN FURNACE!! It’s quite nice :)

  2. ginamastrog permalink
    December 15, 2009 4:21 am

    HA! This was cute :-)
    My favorite way to stay warm is to wear cute outerwear. :-) Who doesn’t love an excuse to buy a cute new coat/hat?

  3. louisianagrown permalink
    December 15, 2009 5:42 am

    Bwhahahaha. This definitely gave me a little laugh. It doesn’t ever get very cold down here, but if I moved someplace where things were different, I could totally see myself developing a little heating pad obsession. Some people weren’t made to be cold!

  4. December 15, 2009 6:05 am

    haha i laughed entirely too loud at this post

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

