Skip to content

I ‘heart’ wine

December 10, 2008

I didn’t get a ton crossed off on my ‘to-do-list’ today (not that it was anything serious by any means). I wrote a thank you letter, watched a lot of Food Network, and tried to figure out my classes for next semester.

I’m going to Spain in May for a group study program with my school. Get this. It is ‘Food and Culture in Spain’. So we pretty much get to go eat, drink and play (with a few classes here and there) for 3 whole weeks. I am SO excited, and it will be an awesome way to finish off my degree.

Later in the afternoon the boy got back from work and we hung out for a bit and debated where to go to dinner (this is always tortuous with us because we are both so indecisive!)

He took me out as a ‘congrats’ for getting done with the bulk of school. What a sweetheart. We were going to try this new tapas, Japanese meets Chinese meets Western cuisine restaurant that opened up a few months ago, but when we drove by we saw no one…I mean, 0 people, inside. NOT a good sign when you’re trying some place new. So we went to Red Water Grill instead. It’s a chain restaurant (which I usually don’t like) but more upscale, and their food is always good!

We splurged on a bottle of Pinot…and I don’t remember what it was (I blame this on the fact that we consumed the entire bottle). I do remember is was Australian, with blue guy riding a bicycle on the label. You know which one I’m talking about right?!

Needless to say, the bottle is gone, yum. I definitely splurged tonight. We started with a small thin crust pesto chicken pizza to share, then received the complimentary bread and bruchetta (amazing!). I had a slice a bread and huge spoonful of bruchetta. For the main course I got the salmon with roasted beets and sauteed green beans (tons of butter, but good). With the main courses you get an option of different sauces so I got all of them (of course I did) on the side to try! Roasted tomato salsa was my fav! And THEN (yes, I ate more) I got the dark chocolate walnut brownie with coconut ice-cream to ‘share’, not much sharing went on and I pretty much demolished it by myself. Then…(god, I sound like a gluttonous monster) I got some coffee. I. am. stuffed. It was all amazing and sooo worth it!

Next time I’ll bring my camera. Which, by the way, I would love to get a new one, any recommendations (moderate price with good picture quality?)

Now I’m in bed and ready to pass out. Night. We’ll chat tomorrow.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2008 1:21 pm

    hey! I found your blog through carrots n cake! Welcome to the blogging world!

  2. December 10, 2008 9:30 pm

    Thanks Rebecca:-)

  3. December 10, 2008 10:48 pm

    Saw your comment on my blog – check out http://www.larabar.com for all of their flavors.

  4. December 11, 2008 1:20 am

    Haha, thanks veggiegirl, that would be the practical thing to do:-p

Leave a Reply

